Oops..

Oh, right, I have a blog!

No, I totally remembered, I have just had no time.

When I used to tell people I was going to grad school, they would give me a sympathetic look and say something akin to, “Well, kiss your social life goodbye!”  Or something ridiculously trite and condescending like that.  And I was all, “Bish, shu’ UP!” and continued my inner dialogue thusly:

First of all, I don’t give a crap about having a social life.  I wish I did.  I wish I liked people enough to miss going out clubbing or to the zoo or whatever it is people who have a social life do.  But generally speaking, I prefer to be by myself.  I’m very content wandering around by myself, going to movies by myself, eating by myself, and sitting in my apartment all day watching Frasier.

Which, OK, I may have done last weekend. In between writing essays, all right, folks?

Anyway, bottom line, I don’t need a social life, so grad school’s not taking it away or anything.

Secondly, excuse me, but you don’t know who you’re talking to.  Last year, I juggled two, sometimes three, jobs at one time.  I was researching and writing my senior thesis.  I was taking a full (to be technical, an overloaded) course load.  I was getting recommendation letters, filling out applications, writing statements of purpose, and schmoozing professors.  I was volunteering at my church at least twice a week.  AND I had a social life.  So stick that in your pipe and smoke it: I can handle stress.  Butt wipe.

But I’m willing to snack on a little crow.  The classes I’m taking now aren’t difficult, per se, but there’s a lot of stuff to do.  I’ve got a lot of reading, which is actually manageable, but I’m also taking a high intermediate language class–something I did not plan on doing but…it’s a long story as to why, and it’s not very interesting–which includes eight hours of work at least per week outside the classroom.  And I have made friends here, so it is slightly sad that I have to say, “Sorry, I’m catching up on the readings,” when they ask me to go skydiving or fly fishing, or whatever it is people with social lives do.  I am usually catching up on readings, but sometimes…Basically, my brain feels like it’s in a crock pot about four days a week and all I want to do on the weekend is lie in my bed and stare at the ceiling.

Which is what I’ve been doing.  Which is why I haven’t updated until now.

But there are some exciting things happening in this Bagel’s life.  Things which I will expound upon when I get another similar interval of time where I’m not trying to memorize twenty new verbs or discussing thesis proposals via email.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

