Wide Open Spaces

I've always thought cities were weird places

The forced juxtaposing of natural and man-made strikes me as creepy

 

I read a book once about 19th century Viennese city planning and how architects thought that adding "natural spaces" to the city would make people feel saner by making them feel free

Add all the trees you want; I still feel like I'm in a prison

Something's just not right. It's too rigid, too...perfect. Like spray-on tans or porcelain veneers

Sometimes, if I squint, I can block out the cars and the buildings and I can feel the wind on my face and hear leaves rustling and I almost feel like I'm back out west under an open sky

Sooner or later, though, you have to snap out of it

You have to content yourself with stone flowers and glass waterfalls

...and Marilyn.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

