Notes on a Summer

Even though I have had ample time to myself these last several weeks, I still have been too lazy to blog.  I fear that soon this blog will devolve into a bullet list of the goings-on in the life a Chicago-based bagel, and the lists would get shorter and shorter over time until I just post a picture of some random thing once every three months…

What is wrong with me?

I guess I’ll just put it in a bullet list:

~One excuse for not blogging more is that the apartment of this bagel is currently internet-less.  My previous internet provider went out of business, or did a merger, or got eaten by Godzilla–I don’t know.  All I know is that they were shutting down my service and gifting me a $125 gift card to Best Buy, which I am OK with.  So I tried to sign up for a new service, and when I couldn’t get it to work, I took it as a sign and swore off home internet.  Crazy, you say?  Yes.  But I’m also going to be out of the country for the next few months, so paying upwards of $50/month for internet I’m not using sounded dumb.

~Another excuse is that I’m leaving the country for the next few months.  I’ve been doing a lot of planning and hostel booking and ticket buying and city-mapping, so I haven’t really had time to come up with something interesting to write about.  The current prospective plan is that I am leaving the 18th (tomorrow!) and I’ll be gone until the end of August.  During that time I’ll be here:

Istanbul

Amman

Larnaca/Nicosia

Athens

The best city in the world, Budapest

It’s going to be a veritable tour of the former Ottoman Empire.  I’m quite excited.  I’ll be going alone with a giant purple suitcase.  I might die.  Should be fun.

~Yet another reason for not posting is that I was drunk for several days in a row after classes let out.  After my last in-class exam, I went to the bar with a couple girlfriends and drank far too many cranberry and vodkas.  About halfway through my sixth drink, I checked my email and found the prompt for my very last exam.  Fairly simple question, 24 hour deadline….ten pages.  My drunk brain thought I had read it wrong, but I handed my phone around the table to make sure I had it right.  Upon confirmation, I lurched to my feet and drunkenly staggered to the library where I wrote the first half of the paper well in cups.  It was great.  Then I re-read it when I sobered up.  Yikes.  Drunk Bagel gets things done, but not well.  Oh, well.  Ended up with an A in the class, but it was an interesting road there.

~More reasons for not writing: There’s a hell of a lot to do in this city during the summer!  These were taken at the famous Chicago Blues Festival where I continued to drink and lounge in the grass while listening to some of the city’s greatest performers.

There were around 40 million people milling around there, a good measure of whom were stoned.  Good times.  I’m not really a blues fan, per se, but give me a cold beverage, a windy mild evening, and a patch of grass to sit on and I’m pretty much set for life.

Anyway, it’s been a pretty good summer in Chi-Town thus far.  I do love this city, and I’ll miss it while abroad.    The next time you hear from me, I’ll be writing to you from the city of Mehmet the Conqueror, the seat of the last caliphate, the great metropolis of the Holy Kebab.  Woohoo!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

